‘Cos that’s how I roll!

ok .. so it’s been awhile since I have last blogged – but what happened yesterday deserves one me thinks and its perfect timing as it follows on from Solo Plateau.

Yip… you guessed it – I had my 3 month weigh in yesterday, or should I say, assessment, because it is no longer about the weight, and to say that I was happier than a white fluffy bunny rabbit in a field of daisies (yes, I shall give you a moment to picture that) was an understatement! Even though I knew (fingers crossed behind my back) that the results would be better than last time I hate … HATE weigh-ins – being weighed, measured, pinched, prodded … no fun … BUT then when a certain personal trainer, aka Wesley, punches in the information to gather the difference and a huge smile breaks from his face you can’t help but want to air punch like your life depends on it!

The last few months have been the toughest … both mentally and physically – far more mentally than anything else. But not only that, these few months have been the bravest I have ever been, I have fought demons that I create, I did something that I would never have believed I could achieve (I ran the Two Oceans 22km trail run) and I have finally taught myself how not to listen to myself when I want to quit – quitting is no longer an option. It is no longer a goal – it is now my life. And I am BEYOND grateful for the enormous support I have had from Wesley through the blood, sweat and tears (and the occasional gag reflex).

Oh! And I now swing a 24kg Kettle Bell … ‘cos that’s how I roll!

It’s been a journey that I hope everyone can find themselves on one day because, as cliché as this sounds, it can be done! Your body will listen to what your mind tells it!

I do this for a lot of reasons, reasons that change every day and 2 reasons that are prudent for me at the moment is 1. “they will first ask why you do it, in time they will ask you how you did it.” and the second reason is a quote from Socrates: “No citizen has the right to be an amateur in the matter of physical training… What a disgrace it is for a man to grow old without ever seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable.”

ok … enough of the deepness … let’s get onto the real reason behind this post … the results!
*drum roll please*

Red is my first weigh in that was done on the 26th May and blue is yesterdays one …

Weight: 72.7kg65.5kg – (I love how this is no longer a major issue – lean muscle baby!)
Waist: 92cm81.5cm
Chest: 96cm90cm (nothing a boob job can’t fix :-))
Bicep: 30cm27.5cm
Thigh: 58cm51cm

Body FatSkin Fold in mm:
Abdomen: 40mm27mm
Supra illiac: 25mm 10mm
Tricep: 29mm14mm
Thigh: 25mm13mm

Body Fat %: 28.6416.65 (YES! That’s right! SIXTEEN. POINT. SIX FIVE)
LBM: 51.8854.59
Fat Mass: 20.82kg10.91kg

*does the Mr Bean Harlem Shake*

And the cherry on the top? I bought (and fitted into and look good in) a pair of size 8 jeans! yes please!

Let me just put one thing straight – this is not some crazy diet where I detox drink my way through the day or measure everything I eat by the milligram … I train my tush off and I eat well … I will have the whole slab of chocolate if I like but I just wont have the whole chocolate every day because of course you do have to watch what you eat and how much of it you eat. As the guys from Sleek Geek say … Eat Clean. Train Dirty. It really is as simple as that.

2 thoughts on “‘Cos that’s how I roll!

  1. Pingback: 28 before 29 … Final Update! | Indigo Lines

Leave a Reply

