World Baking Day!

Let me first start by sending out a HUGE congrats to Cupcakemummy for been chosen as one of the select few bloggers to decorate a cake for stork’s I Love Baking SA campaign for world baking day 2012! *round of applause*

World Baking Day – 20 May 2012

So even though in my head I think I am somewhere in between a Gordon Ramsey, Jamie Oliver and a Nigella Lawson, when I am in fact more like Dina Lady on Gigglebiz, I am sure the mess I leave behind makes Justin think the same!

I do love to bake, it may not come out picture perfect but hell does it taste good! *true story* I love to make apple crumble, chocolate cake, milk tart {yes, I know those are easy – don’t judge… ;-)}, macaroons {damn macaroons are evil buggers! never come out like they supposed to}. My granny {bless her} was {and still is} the best baker in the whole world – one of my fondest memories is Christmas time in Keurbooms where she would be cooking and baking up a storm for the Christmas lunch! The best was her coin cake where she would have lots of 1c and 5c coins but then hide a R2 coin and whoever got that coin got a special present. I managed to always get that coin, but then again, Granny Mary always cut the slices … coincidence? I think not!

I bake as often as I can with Phoenix on the weekends. She is the best egg breaker and whisker out there! Got to teach them from a young age, cos seriously, who is going to cater to my sweet tooth needs when I am old and senile?

So with the theme of World Baking Day on Sunday I want to share my two favourite recipes:

Chocolate Lava Cake:

Ingredients

  • 180g dark chocolate, chopped
  • 250g butter, chopped
  • plain flour, for dusting
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup castor sugar
  • 1/4 cup plain flour, sifted
  • Double cream and cocoa powder, to serve

Method

  1. Place chocolate and butter in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on medium-high (75%) for 1 to 2 minutes, stirring with a metal spoon every 30 seconds, or until melted and combined. Cool completely.
  2. Grease eight 175ml ceramic ovenproof dishes. Sprinkle with flour. Using an electric mixer, beat eggs and sugar for 8 to 10 minutes or until thick and creamy. Fold in chocolate mixture, then flour. Spoon mixture into prepared dishes. Freeze for 1 hour.
  3. Preheat oven to 200°C/180°C fan-forced. Place dishes on a baking tray. Bake for 16 minutes or until just set (cakes will wobble when touched).
  4. Stand dishes for 1 minute. Turn onto plates. Top with cream. Dust with cocoa powder. Serve.
  5. This last point needs to be taken seriously: Take your cake and hide away, far away from everyone else so you can enjoy it in peace.

Image from bellalimento.com

Apple Crumble:

Ingredients (serves 4)

  • 150g (1 cup) plain flour
  • 100g (1/2 cup, firmly packed) brown sugar
  • 100g chilled butter, chopped
  • 50g (1/2 cup) rolled oats
  • 60g (1/2 cup) chopped walnuts
  • 1 x 800g can baker’s apple
  • Vanilla ice-cream, to serve

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Combine the flour, sugar, butter and oats in a bowl.
  2. Use your fingertips to rub the butter into the flour mixture until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Stir in the walnuts.
  3. Spoon the apple into a 1.5L (6-cup) capacity ovenproof dish. Scatter the walnut mixture evenly over the apples. Bake in oven for 20-25 minutes or until golden. Spoon the apple crumble into serving bowls. Serve with ice-cream.

Notes

  • Variation:Have fun experimenting with different ingredients in your Apple Crumble. Try these ideas: Add frozen blueberries or raspberries to the apple; replace the apple with fresh in-season fruits or drained canned fruits; or try using different nuts, such as pecans or hazelnuts, in the crumble.Does anyone know where I can find these mini old-school pans? I would love to make apple crumble in that! ALL FOR MYSELF!

    Image from designcrushblog.com

    Get the family together, find some easy recipes and bake something on Sunday! I think I will keep it super simple and make some Cranberry Shortbread – any orders? 😉

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

