Home Is Where Mom Is…

With Mother’s Day just around the corner  {yes dads and / or partners – it’s  in 2 days time} I spend a lot of  time reflecting on being a mother and having a mother… the day Phoenix was born was the day I appreciated my mom so much … I think Motherhood is one of those lessons in life that can only be taught through experience, you can tell someone ’till you are blue in the face about motherhood but it will go in one ear and out the other if they have never been through it.

Mother’s Day for me is about reflection and then I came across this the other day and it rang so true:

Image from Facebook

Right now I am between the “Mom, you were right” and the “I wanna go to Mom’s house.” My mom lives far from me and I miss her every single day and I want her to know that I after all is said and done that I love her to bits and pieces. My mom is a character of note, fiery, humble – a force to be reckoned with and down right amazing – she drives me absolutely crazy most times, I used to cringe at the thought of her coming to fetch me at school knowing she would make an appearance in her tie-dye shirt, being followed by a wave of incense and the jingle of the crystals and bells on her leather necklaces but you know what … she is the coolest mom in the whole world {next to me that is!}

This is what my mom gave me:

Image from someecards.com

In honour of Mother’s Day.

I found this funny list of all the things we do as mothers

  • You count the 100s & 1000s on each kid’s cupcake to make sure they’re equal. {of course this will happen}
  • You find yourself cutting your husbands’ sandwiches into cute shapes. {I see this is going to happen soon}
  • You can’t bear to give away baby clothes, it’s so final. {done}
  • You hear your mother’s voice coming out of your mouth when you say, “Keep your elbows off the table.” {very much done – and a few other orders too might I add}
  • You stop criticising the way your mother raised you. {YES}
  • You arrange a baby-sitter because you haven’t been out with your husband in ages, and then spend half the night checking on the kids. {guilty}
  • You have time to shave only one leg at a time. {done}
  • You hide in the bathroom to be alone. {done – lost count of how many times}
  • Your kid throws up and you catch it. {done}
  • Someone else’s kid throws up at a party. You keep eating. {uh … no – I run away. I can handle my own childs ‘stuff’ but not other childs}
  • You use your own saliva to clean your child’s face. {done}
  • You’ve mastered the art of placing large quantities of various food types on a plate without anything touching. {done}
  • You hope tomato sauce is a vegetable, since it’s the only one your child eats. {luckily Phoenix eats ‘some’ veggies}
  • You donate to charities in the hope that your child won’t get that disease. {done}
  • Your feet stick to the kitchen floor, and you don’t care. {done}
  • The closest you get to gourmet cooking is making Rice Krispie treats. {ha ha ha! done}
  • You no longer object to cold pizza for breakfast. {always done so that doesn’t count}
  • Your handbag is crammed with emergency toys, sweets and snacks and first aid supplies. {always!}
  • You can talk on the phone, pack a lunch & breast feed all at once. {done}
  • You wonder why it was you ever feared being alone. {done}
  • You spend an entire week wearing track-suit bottoms.{done – weekends though}
  • You can remove chewing gum from just about anything. {going to happen}
  • You say at least once a day, “I’m not cut out for this job”, but you know you wouldn’t trade it for anything. {every day}

    Image from Google

    HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO ALL THE GORGEOUS MOMMIES THAT I KNOW – ESPECIALLY TO MINE!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

