Class of 2002 Reunion!

Holy.Crap.Balls! Has it really been 10 years already – damn! {having a serious Romy and Michelle’s Highschool Reunion moment here}

Image from jessijaejoplin-fashioninfilmvolume3.buzznet.com

Got a Facebook message invite for the class of 2002 reunion in October and nearly fell off my chair! Right! Plan of Action: I have 6 months to get rich and famous and thin! πŸ˜‰

I knew this was coming so I have been thinking whether I would go or not, but I came to the conclusion that a high school reunion is like a bad car accident – you don’t want to look but your eyes move in that direction as you go past… so I think I will go – just to see how fat some of these beatches got {including myself}, although {I don’t mean to brag or anything but…} the earrings I wore in Matric still fit me! that’s how I roll!

Image from from someecards.com

I was by NO MEANS a star pupil or fellow student, but we won’t get into that, after all it was 10 YEARS ago, so this is going to be fun! Maybe I should bring along my purple juice bottle – for effect you know! {inside joke for my school friends}. High School, or should I say being in hostel was the most fun, strangest, annoying and special time of my life – the {almost} midnight runs for port in town, coming to hostel on a Sunday straight from H2O, train smash for breakfast {yes, we really have to eat something called Train Smash}, Aunty Sue, that DAMN 06:05 hand-held cow bell that woke us up. But that is hostel which I loved to hate and hated to love.

High School – blegh! I hated the green dresses, the name badges all in different colours depending on your standard, I hated being an awkward teenager with lanky legs and braces and short spikey hair. I loved passing notes folded into hearts, I loved having friends, I loved being loud and mischievous. I loved the utter abandon with which I threw myself into. I made money by selling smokes, I would spend most of my maths lessons in sick bay, which is probably why I still count on my fingers. I loved playing sport. As I get older I realise that some of my teachers were the age I am now and I giggle when I think of how stupid I thought they were – they would never be able to smell the smoke on us after we had basically drowned ourselves in cheap deodorant and how they would surely believe my 10 000th excuse as to why my homework wasn’t done. “The older I get the wiser my teachers become.” I am sorry to my teachers now. I had good teachers. My standard 6 english teacher – bless her heart. My standard 8 and 9 biology teacher, my art teacher, Ms. Booysen – seriously, that lady deserves a medal for putting up with all my crap.

Dear Phoenix: If you are reading this – do not believe a single word that I have written here {except the parts that are me being reasonably good – those are true}!

Cheers to the class of 2002!

xoxo

3 thoughts on “Class of 2002 Reunion!

  1. Lol! That Lanky legged, Spikey Haired, Utterly Outrageous Brace toothed, Green clothed, Cigarette selling delinquent, left a lasting impression. I have never been the same and all the better for it.

  2. Pingback: i’ve got this feeling deep down in my soul | cupcakemummy and fish

  3. i knew you were old but wow lady … πŸ˜‰
    just teasing!
    you are going to wow everyone, you’re going in there as a fucking gorgeous, lanky, brilliant mother.
    and hell… if they don’t see that then they should put their jealousy aside.

Leave a Reply

