A twist to mince pies!

I have always loved mince pies, they remind me of the Christmas’s spent at my Granny’s house. I can easily eat a dozen of them no problem, but Justin, and most of his family don’t like them so, because I want to make something special for my family this Christmas I was told about a chocolate and orange mince-pie recipe – oh.my.goodness!

I have to tell you though that when Cadbury’s brought out the orange flake my taste buds did a little “don’t you dare eat that” and I couldn’t bring myself to eat one, the thought was just too much for me, almost the same as getting my head around having chocolate spread on bread … (I still haven’t managed that one yet) but then a friend of my bought a Lindt slab of orange chocolate and I decided to have a piece – holy moly – I was addicted!! So when I given this orange-chocolate mince-pie recipe it became my ‘Christmas baking 101!

Chocolate and Orange Mince Pie

Ingredients for the mincemeat:

  • 25 gram(s) dark chocolate chips
  • 125 gram(s) mixed dried fruit
  • 25 gram(s) dried cherries
  • 45 mls marmalade
  • ½ large Cox’s apple, coarsely grated
  • 5 mls ground mixed spice
  • 15 mls cream sherry
  • For the mince pies
  • Flour, to dust
  • 350 gram(s) shortcrust pastry
  • 1  batch chocolate orange mincemeat, as above
  • 1 medium egg, beaten
  • Icing sugar, to dust

Method

  1. Combine all the mincemeat ingredients in a bowl. Use immediately or
  2. keep chilled in a sealed container for up to two weeks.
  3. Preheat oven to 190°C (170°C fan) mark 5. Roll out pastry on a floured surface until it’s 3mm thick. Stamp out 12 rounds using an 8cm fluted cutter and line a 12-hole bun tin.
  4. Divide mincemeat among pastry cases. Re-roll pastry and stamp out lids. Top each pie with a lid and brush with beaten egg. Bake for 12-15min until golden. Leave in tins for 3min, then transfer to a wire rack to cool. Serve warm or at room temperature with a dusting of icing sugar

*if anyone tries this before I do – let me know how it went*

One thought on “A twist to mince pies!

Leave a Reply

